Galicia 2005

Galicia 2005

The Galician People’s Party, led by Manuel Fraga, lost the absolute majority that it was supporting since 1989. With 45.2% of the vote PP obtained 37 out of 75 seats, falling short by one. The Galician socialists, with Emilio Pérez Touriño, got 33.2% of the vote gaining 25 seats, which was the best record for PSOE in regional elections. The left-wing Galician Nationalist Bloc, with the former mayor of Allariz Anxo Quintana as candidate, got 18.7% of the vote and 13 seats. The BNG under Xosé Manuel Beiras obtained in the previous 1997 and 2001 elections 25% and 23% of the vote respectively, coming as second force.

This entry was posted in Galicia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s